## **REGIONAL DISTRICT OF NANAIMO**

# SPECIAL BOARD MEETING TUESDAY, JANUARY 15, 2012 (immediately following Special Committee of the Whole meeting)

## (RDN Board Chambers)

## ADDENDUM

#### PAGES

## COMMUNICATIONS/CORRESPONDENCE

2 - 3 **Graham Bruce**, Island Corridor Foundation, re Regional District Nominees for Island Corridor Foundation Board of Directors.

#### REPORTS

4 - 5 **Board Appointments to Standing, Select and Advisory Committees** – Updated List of 2013 Member Appointments to include Progress Nanaimo (All Directors – One Vote).



January 10, 2013

Regional District of Nanaimo 6300 Hammond Bay Road Nanaimo, BC, V9T 6N2

#### Attention: Paul Thorkelsson, Chief Administrative Officer

Dear Sir:

#### Re: Regional District Nominees for Island Corridor Foundation Board of Directors

As members of the Island Corridor Foundation, the five regional districts namely, Capital Regional District (CRD), Cowichan Valley Regional District (CVRD), Regional District of Nanaimo (RDN), Comox Valley Regional District (CVRD) and the Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District (ACRD) are to each nominate a person for board director of the ICF as per ICF By Law Number 1. In total there are 12 directors, five nominated from the member First Nations and two members at large. Nominees are elected to the ICF Board at the Annual General meeting.

The position of director is for a two year term and the terms are staggered.

Current ICF directors whose term ends April 2013 are:

Mary Ashley – Director at large Ken McRae – ACRD Councillor Albie Charlie – Cowichan Tribes Ray Gauthier – Stz'uminus First Nation Councillor Ted Greves – RDN

& there is one First Nation position to be filled.

Current ICF directors whose term ends April 2014 are: Judith Sayers – director at large Mayor Graham Hill – CRD Lonnie Norris – Halalt First Nation Mayor Larry Jangula – Comox Valley Regional District Chief David Bob – Snaw-Naw-As First Nation Mayor Phil Kent – Cowichan Valley Regional District

For those regional districts whose director's term is up, (ACRD & RDN) could you please notify me of your nominee by the end of February?

The ICF Annual General Meeting at which new directors will be elected is April 25<sup>th</sup> 2013 at Nanaimo.

Further, per the ICF Bylaw Number 1, each regional district and First Nation is to appoint a <u>member</u> to attend the AGM to elect new directors and to receive the auditor's report and conduct whatever other business that is brought forward.

This person appointed as a <u>member</u> to represent your regional district at the AGM may be the same person as the person either currently sitting as director or nominated to be director. Would you please inform me as to who will be your appointed <u>member</u> also by the end of February?

The ICF Board meetings are the fourth Thursday of each month in Nanaimo; the Board does not meet in August or December. Director expenses are covered by the ICF.

I trust this helps to clarify the ICF membership structure and director nominee process. Please call if you have questions or require further information.

Thank you for your continuing support in the reconstruction of rail and the building of trails.

Yours truly,

S. Meller

Graham Bruce Chief Operating Officer

/jkg



# 2013 BOARD MEMBER APPOINTMENTS COMMITTEES & COMMISSIONS

## BOARD OF DIRECTORS and COMMITTEE OF THE WHOLE

Joe Stanhope (Chair)	Diane Brennan (Deputy)	Alec McPherson	Howard Houle
Maureen Young	George Holme	Julian Fell	Bill Veenhof
Marc Lefebvre	Dave Willie	Brian Dempsey	John Ruttan
Diana Johnstone	Bill Bestwick	Ted Greves	Jim Kipp
George Anderson			

## STANDING COMMITTEE MEMBERS

## ELECTORAL AREA PLANNING COMMITTEE:

G. Holme (Chair), M. Young (Deputy), A. McPherson, J. Fell, J. Stanhope, B. Veenhof

## EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE:

J. Stanhope (Chair), M. Young, G. Holme, B. Veenhof, D. Brennan, B. Bestwick, D. Johnstone, M. Lefebvre

## SELECT COMMITTEE MEMBERS

#### D69 COMMUNITY JUSTICE SELECT COMMITTEE:

M. Lefebvre (Chair), G. Holme, J. Stanhope, B. Veenhof, D. Willie, J. Fell

## EMERGENCY MANAGEMENT SELECT COMMITTEE:

M. Young (Chair), A. McPherson, H. Houle, B. Veenhof, G. Holme, J. Fell, J. Stanhope, B. Dempsey

## SUSTAINABILITY SELECT COMMITTEE:

J. Stanhope (Chair), A. McPherson, H. Houle, M. Young, B. Veenhof, D. Brennan, J. Kipp, B. Dempsey, M. Lefebvre, D. Willie

#### TRANSIT SELECT COMMITTEE:

**D. Brennan (Chair),** A. McPherson, M. Young, G. Holme, J. Stanhope, B. Veenhof, B. Bestwick, G. Anderson, T. Greves, B. Dempsey, M. Lefebvre, D. Willie

#### REGIONAL PARKS AND TRAILS SELECT COMMITTEE:

D. Brennan (Chair), J. Stanhope, H. Houle, J. Fell, M. Young, B. Dempsey, M. Lefebvre, D. Willie

## NORTHERN COMMUNITY ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT SELECT COMMITTEE:

J. Stanhope (Chair), G. Holme, B. Veenhof, J. Fell, M. Lefebvre, D. Willie

## ADVISORY COMMITTEE AND COMMISSION MEMBERS

## AGRICULTURAL ADVISORY COMMITTEE:

D. Johnstone (Chair), H. Houle, J. Fell

## FIRE SERVICES ADVISORY COMMITTEE:

G. Holme (Chair), M. Young, J. Fell, J. Stanhope, B. Veenhof

## GRANTS-IN-AID ADVISORY COMMITTEE:

M. Young (Chair), D. Willie

## REGIONAL LIQUID WASTE ADVISORY COMMITTEE:

B. Bestwick (Chair), G. Anderson, B. Dempsey, G. Holme

## REGIONAL SOLID WASTE ADVISORY COMMITTEE:

G. Holme (Chair), T. Greves, J. Kipp, H. Houle

## PARKS AND OPEN SPACE ADVISORY COMMITTEES:

- ELECTORAL AREA 'B' H. Houle
- NANOOSE BAY G. Holme
- EAST WELLINGTON/PLEASANT VALLEY M. Young
  ELECTORAL AREA 'F' J. Fell
- ELECTORAL AREA 'G' J. Stanhope ELECTORAL AREA 'H' B. Veenhof

DISTRICT 69 RECREATION COMMISSION: B. Veenhof (Alternate: J. Fell)

ELECTORAL AREA 'A' PARKS, RECREATION & CULTURE COMMISSION: A. McPherson

## SCHEDULED STANDING COMMITTEES (EXTERNAL APPOINTMENTS)

	Appointment	Alternate
Arrowsmith Water Service Management Board	J. Stanhope	G. Holme
Central South RAC for Island Coastal Economic Trust	J. Stanhope, G. Holme	
Deep Bay Harbour Authority	B. Veenhof	
Englishman River Water Service Management Board	J. Stanhope, G. Holme	
Island Corridor Foundation	T. Greves	J. Stanhope
Mount Arrowsmith Biosphere Foundation	M. Young	
Municipal Finance Authority	J. Stanhope	G. Holme
Municipal Insurance Association	J. Kipp	
Nanaimo Parks, Recreation & Culture Commission	Alec McPherson (A) Howard Houle (B) Maureen Young (C)	
North Island 911 Corporation	J. Stanhope	M. Lefebvre
Oceanside Homelessness Task Force	B. Veenhof	
Oceanside Tourism Association	G. Holme	J. Stanhope
Progress Nanaimo Board	H. Houle	
Snuneymuxw First Nations/Regional District of	J. Stanhope	
Nanaimo Protocol Agreement Working Group	D. Brennan A. McPherson	
Te'Mexw Treaty Negotiations Committee	B. Dempsey	G. Holme
Vancouver Island Regional Library Board	G. Holme	H. Houle