REGIONAL DISTRICT OF NANAIMO

MINUTES OF THE SPECIAL BOARD MEETING OF THE REGIONAL DISTRICT OF NANAIMO HELD ON TUESDAY, SEPTEMBER 13, 2016 AT 8:14 PM IN THE RDN BOARD CHAMBERS

In Attendance:

Director W. Veenhof Chairperson

Director C. Haime **Deputy Chairperson** Director A. McPherson Electoral Area A Director H. Houle Electoral Area B Director B. Rogers Electoral Area E Electoral Area F Director J. Fell Director J. Stanhope Electoral Area G Director B. McKay City of Nanaimo Director B. Bestwick City of Nanaimo Director J. Hong City of Nanaimo Director J. Kipp City of Nanaimo Director W. Pratt City of Nanaimo Director I. Thorpe City of Nanaimo Director B. Yoachim City of Nanaimo Director M. Lefebyre City of Parksville

Director T. Westbroek Town of Qualicum Beach

Regrets:

Director M. Young Electoral Area C

Also in Attendance:

D. Trudeau Interim Chief Administrative Officer

R. Alexander Gen. Mgr. Regional & Community Utilities & Solid Waste

T. Osborne Gen. Mgr. Recreation & Parks
J. Hill A/Director of Corporate Services

W. Idema Director of Finance
C. Golding Recording Secretary

CALL TO ORDER

IN CAMERA

16-595 MOVED Director Houle, SECONDED Director Lefebvre, that pursuant to Sections 90 (1) (c) and (e) of the *Community Charter* the Board proceed to an In Camera Meeting for discussions related to labour relations and land acquisition.

CARRIED

TIME: 8:14 PM

RISE AND REPORT

Management and Excluded Staff Salaries.

16-596 MOVED Director Pratt, SECONDED Director Lefebvre, that management and excluded staff salaries, excluding the Chief Administrative Officer salary, be increased by 2% effective May 1, 2016, consistent with the increase provided to CUPE staff for 2016, and that the formal salary survey provided for in Management Salary Administration Policy A3-16 and scheduled for this year, be conducted in 2017 under the direction of the permanent Chief Administrative Officer.

CARRIED

ADJOURNMENT

MOVED Director Stanhope, SECONDED Director Haime, that this meeting be adjourned.

CARRIED

TIME: 9:25 PM

CHAIRPERSON	CORPORATE OFFICER	